Handing over your smartphone or any smart device to someone is quite worrying, isn’t It? Anybody other than you who gets access to your smart device might access your private and sensitive data or even knowingly or unknowingly delete any vital data. In short, it is of utmost importance to secure your smartphone before giving it to someone else. One of the fantastic features of Android is “Guest Mode.” Android smartphone or any smart device having Android version Lollipop 5.0 or higher will support this feature. Let’s not wait further and learn how to set up guest mode on any Android device.
How does guest mode work on Android?
Once you activate guest mode on Android, you create one temporary account by which you can access only a limited number of applications like Google Chrome, Maps, etc. With a guest mode account, any user will not be allowed to access the contacts, messages, and private photos.
Most importantly, your smart device or smartphone will provide the guest with a new home screen with some limited applications that are available as default. Even the notifications are also blocked guest mode feature is activated. The Guest user can only download apps with the Google play store by signing in with some other account of their own. If that application is already downloaded on your smartphone, it will work with the guest profile.
How to enable guest mode on Android devices?
Steps involved to enable guest mode depends on the device’s manufacturer or the Android version of your smart device or smartphone. To setup, follow these steps –
- Swipe down the notification panel on your Android device.
- Tap on the profile icon on the notification panel.
- Tap on the Guest Mode.
- Now you will see “switching to Guest Mode” on the screen.
As I told you before, the guest mode home screen will only show default applications. It will not show any of your downloaded android applications. Now your private photos, contacts, messages will not be accessible to the guest user. In short, you need not worry about your private data on the Android smart device anymore.
After switching to Guest Mode, your Android device or smartphone will appear as if you have bought it for the first time since it will only show the default applications.
How to remove guest mode on Android devices?
Now if you want to remove Guest mode, you will have to follow the similar steps as below –
- Swipe down the notification panel from the top of the screen of your Android device.
- Tap the profile icon. It will show the original profile name and the ‘Remove Guest’ option.
- Now tap the “Remove Guest” option to remove it. The mode will switch to the original profile.
Some Android devices may not support the above steps and therefore, you can use 3rd party applications to activate the guest mode. Some of such 3rd party applications are as follows –
How to add a permanent guest user?
If someone uses your Android device regularly, then it is best to create a permanent guest user account. You can do this by following steps –
- Swipe down the notification panel from the top of the screen.
- Tap the profile icon.
- Now you will see the “Add User” option. Click on this option and add a new user.
- You can switch to this newly created user by just tapping it.
Guest mode for other Android devices
If you do not get the above options in your Android device, you may check into your settings. There you may find some alternative way to create or add users.
Follow this – Settings > Users > Guest > System > Advanced > Multiple Users
Some of the Android devices do not support switch user settings or add a new user. In that case, there is a “Hide apps” option where you can hide apps from the guest profile or account on any Android smart device. There are also a couple of good 3rd party Android applications, such as Norton App Lock, App Lock, etc., which can hide your applications.
Also, there are several Android smart devices which have “Kids Mode”. You can enable this mode and give your smartphone to a child without worrying about data privacy or loss.
Over to you
Android guest mode feature helps us in keeping our personal data safe on Android smartphone or any smart device for that matter. Whether you have personal photos or any sensitive information in your Android smart device, data privacy has become crucial in today’s world. Nowadays, most of us keep gigabytes of personal data on our smartphones and do frequent online transactions. So, it has become vital to keep our data secure before handing our smartphone to someone else.
Also, the “Add User” feature is essential if you want to separate out your work and personal life. For instance, if you go to the office, then you can switch to a different user profile where personal data and applications are not exposed to the outer world. When you leave your workplace, you can switch to your personal profile where you can access the photo gallery, informal applications, games, etc.