The Google Chrome Browser has a unique mode called the ‘Guest Mode’. It is designed for people other than the owner or the primary user of the browser. If you lend your computer to someone and they use the ‘Guest Mode’ to surf the internet in, then, when you get back your browser, it would feel as if no-one touched it at all!

Has it ever happened to you that you lent your computer to someone for a short time and when you got it back, the settings in your Google Chrome Browser were in a mess? They might have logged you out of your e-mail, social network or website accounts and signed-in to theirs.

They may even have searched words that now show up as suggested searches when you use your browser.

To share is to care but is there a way to share your computer without you having to suffer by getting the settings in your browser changed?

What does the Guest Mode do?

The Guest Mode provides a separate, blank browser window for the guest to work on. It is ideal for someone who has a short, one-time affair with your device.

It does not save the guest’s browsing history. A person using the Guest window is also at ease as he/she can directly login to online accounts without having to first log-out of the primary user’s account.

Steps to access Guest Mode on Google Chrome

  1. Open the Chrome browser
  2. At the top right corner, you’ll see an icon of a button with either a name on it or titled ‘People’, Press it
  3. From the drop-down menu that shows up, choose Guest

This will open a new window on the browser screen with the words ‘Guest’ written on the top-right corner.

To exit the Guest Mode

As a guest, you can do the following to exit this mode once you’re done browsing:

  1. Click on the words ‘Guest’ written on the top right corner of the browser window
  2. From the drop-down menu that appears, choose ‘Exit Guest’

Difference between the Guest Mode and Incognito Mode

You might be wondering that if Guest Mode also doesn’t save the browsing history and gives a blank, new browser to work on, then why not use the Incognito Mode instead? But, despite being similar and comparable, there is a difference between the two modes.

The Incognito Mode is designed for the primary user of the device to surf the internet without getting the browsing history saved. However, the Guest Mode is ideally meant for someone else using your browser, as it doesn’t let that guest view any of your browsing history or other information. It also doesn’t allow the guest user to change any Chrome settings.