Google Chrome tracks and keeps a record of your browsing history. This comprises of all the websites/web pages you visit in the past some time, their URLs enlisted chronologically under the tab of ‘history’. Not limited to sites, but also the saved passwords, caches and cookies form a part of your browsing history. However, you would not always want your browser to keep your search history and would want to delete a part or all of it. Don’t worry; there are ways to delete Google Chrome history, which we will see further in this article!

Ever since Google launched Chrome in 2008, it has taken over Internet Explorer’s fan following, which had long been the most used browser.  With 70% market share, Google Chrome undoubtedly the reigns over all browsers. And why would it not? It gives you a clean and straightforward user interface with swift search speeds while recording the data parts that you browse on the web.

If you want to delete Chrome history, the first step is to view it:

  1. On your computer, open the Google Chrome browser
  2. At the top right corner, click More
  3. Click History

Clearing all of your browsing history in Chrome

After you’ve arrived at the Chrome history page, you’ll be able to see a list of all the websites you visited in the past, listed along with the time you visited them at, in chronological order.

If you want to remove all of your Google Chrome browsing histories from the beginning, you can do the following-

On the Chrome history page,

  1. On the left, click Clear browsing data. A box will appear.
  2. As you wish to clear everything, from the drop-down menu, choose the beginning of time.
  3. Check the boxes for the info you want Chrome to clear, including “browsing history.”
  4. Click Clear browsing data.

Clearing only a part of your browsing history in Chrome

If you do not wish to clear all of the Chrome’s browsing data and instead, only of the past 24 hours or 1 week or so, you should:

On the Chrome history page,

  1. On the left, click Clear browsing data. A box will appear.
  2. From the drop-down menu, select how much history you want to delete. For example, 24 hours, one week etc.
  3. Check the boxes for the info you want Chrome to clear, including “browsing history.”
  4. Click Clear browsing data.

Deleting an item from your browsing history

In case you want to delete just a website or webpage from your browsing history and not a chunk of it, you can do the following:

Go to the history page,

  1. Search for what you want to delete using the search bar at the top
  2. Check the box next to the item that you wish to remove from your History.
  3. At the top right corner, click Delete.
  4. Confirm by clicking Remove.

Deleting your browsing history will take effect on all devices where you’re signed in to Chrome.

Avoiding your browsing history to get saved in Google Chrome

At times, it can be tedious and time taking to search items from your browsing history and delete them. Thus, in cases where you know you would want to remove the history of the pages you’re about to visit, you can switch to the ‘incognito mode’ of the Google Chrome browser.

This feature helps you to browse without Chrome saving your browsing history, cookies and site data, or information entered in forms. However, your employer or internet service provider may still be able to see your activity.

To open the incognito window:

  1. Open the Chrome browser
  2. At the top right, click More
  3. From the drop-down menu, click- New Incognito Window.
  4. A new window appears.

You can also use a keyboard shortcut to open an Incognito window:

  • Windows, Linux, or Chrome OS: Press Ctrl + Shift + n.
  • Mac: Press  + Shift + n.

Happy browsing!