How to delete a Gmail account and keep YouTube, Google Play Data

Many of us have had to delete our email accounts because of various reasons such as the inbox getting spammed, running out of space or just deleting a Gmail account we do not use.

If you wish to delete your Gmail account too, you can do it in two ways:

  • Deleting the email service but keeping other products – YouTube, Google Play, Docs Adwords, Adsense, or Calendar Data
  • Deleting the Google Account and all the data

Steps to delete a Gmail Account

  • Sign in to your account by going to myaccount.google.com
  • Click on Delete your account or services, provided under Account Preferences.
  • Now you will receive the option of choosing only to delete the Gmail service or all the services and data. Click on the option you want to select.
  • Sign in again – only a security check by Google.

Note: You can follow from step 5 if you only want to delete the email account and want to keep your YouTube/Google Play data. However, if you chose to delete all your data, you will need to sign in again and choose whether you want to download your account data. Also, you will have to agree to the terms that you will be responsible for pending financial transactions (if any).

  • If you clicked on Deleting Products – look for a Gmail icon with a trash can symbol on its right, click on it.
    Now, Google will ask you to provide an alternative email account which cannot be a Gmail address. Make sure the alternative account is accessible as you will need to verify it.

Once you finish the verification of your new email address by following the link you received in the alternative email’s inbox, your Gmail Account will get deactivated or deleted.

Final Thoughts

Gmail also gives you an option to recover a Gmail Account you deleted recently. Therefore, if you recall later that you may have some important documents or contacts, you will be able to recover your data as Google doesn’t delete all your data immediately.

Also, if anybody sends you an email to the deleted email address, they will receive a failure report. So, make sure to share your new contact details.

[like_dislike]
Advertisement

You May Also Like

How to use Bcc in Gmail?

Using Bcc or Blind Carbon Copy is an easy way to protect the privacy of recipients by not allowing any recipient to look at the private information (email addresses) of other recipients in the mail.

What is Bcc in email? How does it work?

Bcc, BCC, or bcc, stands for Blind Carbon Copy. It is used when a user wants to send a copy of an email to the recipients without them knowing the other recipients in the "Bcc" address field.

What are the IMAP settings for Gmail?

IMAP or Internet Messaging Access Protocol is a protocol used to access or retrieve emails from any Mail Server. To sync your Gmails with your...

How to sign in with Multiple Gmail Accounts from the same browser?

Almost everybody, or at least who I know has more than two Email accounts. Since Gmail or Google mail is the most widely used email service across the globe, people have multiple Gmail accounts too. I have seen many people who operate one Gmail ID for doing one kind of business. Even myself! I have one Gmail account on which I take subscriptions, one account I use for banking, jobs, and education stuff, and one for my social media accounts. Now, what if I want to access all of my Gmail accounts at once? Is it possible?

More Articles Like This

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Email
Print
More